Entry rule for your passport
Ordinary passports need an approved eTA before travel; diplomatic, official and service passports are exempt for up to 90 days. Your passport must be valid 6 months with a blank page.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
Who this covers: Ordinary Indian passports for tourist visits to Kenya. Diplomatic, official and service passports, work, study and business trips need separate checks.
Check your circumstances
Read these conditions alongside the entry rule. Where official guidance does not state a condition, that is not confirmation that no condition applies.
- Passport type Confirmed for this scope
- Ordinary Indian passports need an eTA. Indian diplomatic, official and service passports are exempt for up to 90 days.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Trip purpose Conditions to check
- The eTA covers visits; medical, conference, employment, business and family visits need extra documents, such as an invitation letter from your host.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Age Confirmed for this scope
- All visitors, including infants and children, need their own approved eTA. Parents or guardians are responsible for what is submitted for a minor.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Residence Conditions to check
- Holders of Kenyan permanent residence, valid work permits, passes or re-entry passes do not need an eTA. The pages read set no rule on where you live when you apply.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Other visas or residence permits Not stated in the cited guidance
- The eTA pages list no visa or residence permit from another country that replaces the eTA.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Carrier and arrival route Confirmed for this scope
- Show the approved eTA at departure and on arrival. Passengers changing planes who stay inside the airport do not need one.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
- Stay and visa validity Not stated in the cited guidance
- No maximum stay is stated for eTA holders. The visitor pass is issued at entry and can be extended to a maximum of 6 months on application.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
Who needs an eTA
Under the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration (Amendment) Rules, 2025, India is not among the countries whose ordinary passport holders are exempt, so Indian tourists apply for the eTA. The exemption for India covers only diplomatic, official and service passports, for up to 90 days. An eTA is permission to travel, not a guarantee of entry: the immigration officer decides when you arrive.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
Applying for the eTA
Apply only on the official eTA website, etakenya.go.ke, or the Kenya Travel Authorisation app, with one application per traveler; a group option covers families. Have a passport valid at least 6 months with a blank page, a selfie or passport-type photo, your email and phone number, your arrival and departure plans, a hotel booking and a payment card.
The Directorate of Immigration Services processes applications in about 3 working days and recommends applying at least 2 weeks before you travel. Fees start at USD 30 for normal processing, with expedited processing for an extra USD 100. The fee is not refundable, even if the eTA is refused, and a mistake after submission means a new application and a new fee.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
Passport and health insurance
Your passport must be valid at least 6 months, with at least one blank page. Since 5 October 2026, the eTA application includes Kenya's mandatory national travel health insurance for stays of less than 12 months, according to the governments of the United Kingdom and Canada.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office; Government of Canada.
Length of stay and extensions
The eTA pages read do not state a maximum stay for eTA holders. Your visitor pass is issued at the point of entry, so check the period the officer grants. Kenya's immigration service says a visitor pass can be extended to a maximum of 6 months, through an online application on its foreign nationals portal made before your permission runs out.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Government of Canada.
At the border
Carry the approved eTA, printed or saved on your phone, as it is checked at departure and arrival. Admissibility is decided at the point of entry.
Official sources: Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya; Directorate of Immigration Services, Republic of Kenya.
Check the linked authorities again before travel; Kenya makes the final entry decision.
Approved by TravPa Editors.