Entry rule for your passport
British citizen tourism: eVisa unless valid OCI/eOCI or other permission applies. A 30-day eTourist stay is available; Pakistani-origin restrictions apply. Passport: 6 months on arrival, 2 blank pages. Check arrival forms.
Official sources: UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.
Who this covers: Full British citizen ordinary passports, tourism, arriving by air at Delhi; Pakistani nationality/origin and existing Indian permission require the separate checks below.
Check your circumstances
Read these conditions alongside the entry rule. Where official guidance does not state a condition, that is not confirmation that no condition applies.
- Passport type Confirmed for this scope
- This guide covers a full British citizen ordinary passport. The eVisa route excludes diplomatic, official and other travel documents; Pakistani nationality or qualifying Pakistani ancestry requires a different route.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Trip purpose Confirmed for this scope
- Recreation, sightseeing and casual visits fit eTourist permission. Employment, journalism, NGO work and other purposes must use the appropriate permission instead.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Age Conditions to check
- Each child needs an individual passport and application. The instructions require arrival biometrics but do not state a general age waiver; do not assume one.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Residence Conditions to check
- The online eVisa route is based on eligible nationality and passport. Valid OCI/eOCI or an existing visa changes the permission needed; paper-visa applications must follow the relevant mission jurisdiction.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Other visas or residence permits Not stated in the cited guidance
- The reviewed British tourist eVisa eligibility does not offer a substitute based on another country visa or residence permit. An existing Indian visa or valid OCI/eOCI is a separate permission.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Carrier and arrival route Conditions to check
- Arrival must use an authorized immigration checkpoint. Delhi airport appears in both official port presentations; the portal does not name a required airline for this British tourist route.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
- Stay and visa validity Confirmed for this scope
- The current 30-day eTourist product allows multiple entries and runs from first arrival. The 1-year and 5-year products run from ETA grant and cap total tourist stay at 180 days in a calendar year.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
Choose the right permission
For a full British citizen passport and an ordinary sightseeing trip, apply for an eTourist visa before travel unless you already hold valid permission for the visit. A valid OCI card or eOCI with your valid foreign passport is a separate route; Indian ancestry by itself is not proof of OCI status. Check the conditions of any existing Indian visa before applying for another one.
This guide is for air arrival at Delhi and tourism in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur. It does not cover employment, journalism, NGO work, research or permission for restricted areas. Use the official category that matches your actual purpose.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.
Keep validity and stay separate
The current official portal lists a 30-day eTourist visa with multiple entries, valid for 30 days from your first arrival. Your first arrival must fall between the issue and expiry dates printed on the electronic travel authorization. Check those dates before buying a nonrefundable journey.
The 1-year and 5-year tourist products have multiple entries and run from the date the ETA is granted. The portal limits total stay on those products to 180 days in a calendar year. Their longer visa validity is not permission to remain continuously for a year or five years; follow the conditions on your grant and entry endorsement. The portal describes eVisas as non-extendable and non-convertible.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration.
Prepare the application and passport
The portal says to apply at least four days before arrival and permits applications up to 120 days ahead. This is an application window, not a promise of approval within four days. Apply through the government portal, upload the requested passport page and photograph, and wait for the granted ETA before travel. Print it for arrival.
For British citizens, FCDO guidance requires a passport valid for at least six months on arrival with two blank pages. The eVisa instructions separately require six months of validity at application. Carry your return or onward ticket and evidence of sufficient funds. Each child needs a separate passport and application; the portal does not state a universal child exemption from arrival biometrics. It describes an online application and arrival checks, not an exemption from any further information request.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.
Check ancestry and existing status
The eVisa instructions exclude Pakistani passport holders and people of Pakistani origin, including applicants whose parents or grandparents were born in or permanently resident in Pakistan. They direct these cases to a regular visa through an Indian mission. FCDO also gives separate advice for British-Pakistani dual nationals and those who have renounced Pakistani nationality. Do not treat a British passport alone as proof that the eVisa route applies.
Where a regular visa is needed, ask the Indian mission responsible for your place of residence for its current document, attendance and processing requirements. This guide has not verified every overseas consular jurisdiction. Another country visa or residence permit is not listed as a substitute for the British tourist eVisa requirements.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.
Use the correct arrival port and forms
Delhi airport appears in both the official FAQ and the dedicated authorized-checkpoint tab. Those two parts of the portal disagree about land and cruise entry, so this guide does not confirm an overland or cruise route. Ask Indian immigration about your exact crossing before booking one. The reviewed British tourist rules do not specify a particular airline.
Foreign nationals and OCI/eOCI holders must complete the eArrival card within 72 hours before arrival. It records arrival information and is not a visa. International air passengers must also complete the separate Air Suvidha health declaration; the operating government portal allows submission up to 72 hours before arrival, while FCDO guidance says 24 hours. Check the live form and your airline's instructions before departure, and keep both confirmations accessible.
Official sources: Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; Government of India, Bureau of Immigration; Government of India, Ministry of Civil Aviation; UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office.
Check the linked authorities again before travel; India makes the final entry decision.
Approved by TravPa Editors.
